Package Billing FAQs: Past Lessons Reducing New Package Balance

Past Lessons Reducing New Package Balance

Package billing is a billing method that works based on services. A package invoice is created for a number of lessons/hours of a particular service. When lessons are scheduled using the same service, the package balance decreases.

In some cases, you may create a package invoice and notice that the package balance is reduced immediately without new lessons being scheduled. This happens if the client had previous lessons with a matching service.

In this third article in our Package Billing FAQ series, we’ll take a closer look at the following question and provide a quick and easy solution: “Why do old lessons count towards my client’s new package balance?”

What is Package Billing And How Are Balances Calculated?

Package billing is a billing method that allows you to sell packages of lessons/hours to your clients that can be used up over any period of time. To add a package for a client, you will need to generate a package invoice and choose a particular service. Once the invoice has been approved, an entry will be added to the Package Balances table. 

The Package Balances table allows you to track package usage and indicates any overages in red.

Package Balances Table

Package balances are reduced when lessons with a matching service are added to the calendar and marked as attended. Since packages can be used up over an undefined period of time, this could include past lessons which would lead to the scenario in this FAQ.

For more information about the Package Billing method, visit our knowledge base: Package Billing Method

The Solution to the FAQ:

To resolve this issue, you can use our “Archive Package” feature. This feature allows you to set an archive date and all packages and/or lessons that occur on or before the date will be excluded from Package Balances.

You can follow these easy steps:

  1. Go to Billing > Package Balances
  2. Find the relevant package and click the magnifying glass icon to view the package
  3. Select the “Archive Package” link in the sidebar
  4. Choose an Archive Date* 
  5. Save the form
  6. Confirm that the balance has been updated correctly

*Packages with an invoice date on or before the “Archive Date” will be excluded from the Package Balances table. You will want to set this date to at least one day before the invoice date on the new package invoice to ensure it doesn’t get archived.

For example, if you’ve created a new package invoice for December 5, you can set the “Archive Date” to December 4.

Archiving a package

If you’ve made a mistake with the “Archive Date”, do not worry. You can easily edit or delete Archived Packages.

For more information, please visit our knowledge base: Archive Packages

In the next article in our Package Billing FAQ series, we’ll answer the following question: “How do I track package balances without having to check the package balances table all the time?”

You can access the other articles in this series below:


Are you looking for tutor management software to help you be more productive and efficient? Try Teachworks free for 3-weeks! Click below to get started:

Comments are closed.

Start Free Trial